Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Bioisosters

The application of bioisosters in drug development is an increasing field due to novel synthetic methods and thereby the accessibility of new building blocks. By incorporating unusual motifs the desired properties of a lead compound can be improved or even new mechanisms of action can be identified.

We currently focus on the strained bicyclo[1.1.1]pentane (BCP) moiety as a bioisoster for para‑substituted phenyl rings or alkynes (Figure 1).

Figure 1. Comparison of a para-substituted benzene ring, a bicyclo[1.1.1]pentane system and a para-substituted alkyne group in spacial features.

BCPs are accessible from [1.1.1]propellane (2), a tricyclic hydrocarbon with unique structure and reactivity (Scheme 1).[1] Different approaches have enabled the introduction of BCP in a variety of compounds in recent years.

Scheme 1. Propellane synthesis and derived BCP products.

The thiol addition to 2[2] and subsequent reactions to the sulfoxides, sulfones, sulfoximines or sulfonamide enable the synthesis of bioisoster compounds with interesting biological properties (Scheme 2).

Scheme 2. Thiol addition to 2 and further modification of the resulting sulfides 6 to sulfilimines (9, n = 0), sulfoximines (9, n = 1) and their N-substituted derivatives.

 

Sulfonamides are known to have an antimicrobial effect and have been incorporated in many drug compounds already. The similar sulfoximines (“chemical chameleons”) and sufilimines are classes of chiral ligands and are therefore of great interest for catalysis and drug development. Their N-substituted derivatives are useful building blocks for the investigation of structure-activity relationships.

[1]          a) A. M. Dilmaç, E. Spuling, A. de Meijere, S. Bräse, Angew. Chem. 2017129, 5778–5813; b) A. M.
              Dilmaç, E. Spuling, A. de Meijere, S. Bräse, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 201756, 5684–5718.

[2]          R. M. Bär, S. Kirschner, M. Nieger, S. Bräse, Chem. Eur. J. 201824, 1373–1382.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Bioisostere

Bioisostere finden in der Wirkstoffentwicklung immer mehr Anwendung, dank neuer Synthesemethoden und die Verfügbarkeit von neuen Bausteinen. Durch den Einbau ungewöhnlicher Motive können die gewünschten Eigenschaften einer Leitstruktur verbessert oder sogar neue Wirkmechanismen entdeckt werden.

Aktuell konzentrieren wir uns auf das gespannte Bicyclo[1.1.1]pentan (BCP) als Bioisoster für para-substituierte Phenylringe oder Alkine (Abbildung 1).

Abbildung 1. Vergleich eines para-substituierten Phenylrings, eines Bicyclo[1.1.1]pentan Systems und eines para-substituierten Alkins in ihren räumlichen Eigenschaften.

BCPs sind über das [1.1.1]Propellan (2), ein trizyklischer Kohlenwasserstoff mit einzigartiger Struktur und Reaktivität, zugänglich (Schema 1).[1] Verschiedene Herangehensweisen haben die Einführung von BCP in eine Vielzahl von Verbindungen in den letzten Jahren ermöglicht.

Schema 1. Propellan Synthese und abgeleitete BCP Produkte.

Die Thiol Addition an 2[2] und nachfolgende Reaktionen zu den Sulfoxiden, Sulfonen, Sulfoximinen oder Sulfonamiden ermöglichen die Synthese von bioisosteren Verbindungen mit interessanten biologischen Eigenschaften (Schema 2).

Schema 2. Thiol Addition an 2 und weitere Modifikation der resultierenden Sulfide 6 zu Sulfiliminen (9, n = 0), Sulfoximinen (9, n = 1) und deren N-substituierten Derivate.

Sulfonamide sind bekannt für ihren antimikrobiellen Effekt und wurden in vielen Arzneimitteln eingebaut. Die ähnlichen Sulfoximine ("chemische Chamäleons") und Sulfilimine sind Klassen chiraler Liganden und daher von großen Interesse für die Katalyse und die Wirkstoffentwicklung. Ihre N-substituierten Derivate sind nützliche Bausteine für die Untersuchung von Struktur-Wirkungsbeziehungen.

[1]          a) A. M. Dilmaç, E. Spuling, A. de Meijere, S. Bräse, Angew. Chem. 2017129, 5778–5813; b) A. M.
              Dilmaç, E. Spuling, A. de Meijere, S. Bräse, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 201756, 5684–5718.

[2]          R. M. Bär, S. Kirschner, M. Nieger, S. Bräse, Chem. Eur. J. 201824, 1373–1382.