Research Group Bräse

Supramolecular organic Networks

Rigid aromatic building blocks

Our research interest relates to the synthesis of organic building blocks with diverse geometries for the representation of supramolecular superstructures. We have developed a general methodology to functionalise simple biphenyls, terphenyls, triphenylbenzenes, porphyrins, tetraphenylmethanes and -adamantanes with sticky sites. These are able to form interactions with other molecules according to the principle of molecular self-recognition. We mainly work with the corresponding bromides, alkynes, azides, amines, aldehydes, alkoxyamines and nitroxides (Figure 1).

Figure 1: Representation of rigid aromatic building units for the representation of porous networks.[1]

 

Rigid aromatic azidfunctionalized building blocks for direct laser writing (DLW)

in process

 

Supramolecular organic Networks

The assembly of the building blocks in networks can take place via different types of reactions, whereby a distinction can generally be made between kinetically or thermodynamically controlled reactions. Kinetic control occurs in irreversible reactions such as cross-couplings, implies irreversible bond linkage and thus leads to amorphous networks with loose sticky-sites and linkage defects. Thermodynamic control is achieved through the use of reversible reaction types and thus counts as "Dynamic Covalent Chemistry". The networks thus obtained can correct loose ends and linkage failures by partial back-reaction and new linkage.

Figure 2: Classes of porous materials for which building blocks are synthesised in this working group.

 

Nitroxid exchange networks

The Bräse working group is currently working with the so-called nitroxide exchange reaction, in which multifunctional alkoxyamines and nitroxides react with each other to form a reversible network.

           

Figure 3: Nitroxid-exchange reaction for the reversible fabrication of networks.[2]

The reaction can be monitored using electron paramagnetic resonance spectroscopy, since unpaired electrons on the nitroxides are involved. Different hyperfine couplings of the nitroxides allow a precise statement about the progress of the reaction and the number of loose ends in the finished network. Due to the reversibility of the reaction, the degree of linkage of the network can be changed within wide limits. At the same time, the starting materials can be recycled by complete dissolution.

Furthermore, we were recently able to combine such nitroxide exchange networks with nitroxide mediated polymerisation to freely adjust pore sizes in the network.[3]

 

Cyclotetrabenzoine

in process

 

Literature

[1] Z. Hassen et al., Adv. Funct. Mater. 202030, 1907625.

[2] Q. An et al., Polym. Chem. 201910, 672–678.

[3] Y. Jia et al., Polym. Chem. 202011, 2502.

Arbeitskreis Bräse

Supramolekulare organische Netzwerke

Starre aromatische Bausteine

Unser Forschungsinteresse bezieht sich auf die Synthese organischer Bausteine mit diversen Geometrien zur Darstellung von supramolekularen Überstrukturen. Hierfür haben wir eine allgemeine Methodik entwickelt um einfache Biphenyle, Terphenyle, Triphenylbenzole, Porphyrine, Tetraphenylmethane und -adamantane mit „sticky-sites“ zu funktionalisieren. Diese sind in der Lage, nach dem Prinzip der molekularen Selbsterkennung, Wechselwirkungen zu anderen Molekülen auszubilden. Hauptsächlich arbeiten wir hierbei mit den entsprechenden Bromiden, Alkinen, Aziden, Aminen, Aldehyden, Alkoxyaminen und Nitroxiden (Abbildung 1).

Abbildung 1: Darstellung starrer aromatischer Baueinheiten für die Darstellung poröser Netzwerke.[1]

 

Starre aromatisch azidfunktionalisierte Bausteine für direct laser writing (DLW)

in Bearbeitung

 

Supramolekulare organische Netzwerke

Der Einbau der Bausteine in Netzwerken kann über verschiedene Reaktionstypen erfolgen, wobei im Allgemeinen zwischen kinetisch oder thermodynamisch kontrollierten Reaktionen unterschieden werden kann. Kinetische Kontrolle erfolgt bei irreversiblen Reaktionen wie Kreuzkupplungen, bedingt eine irreversible Bindungsknüpfung und führt damit zu amorphen Netzwerken mit losen „sticky-sites“ und Verknüpfungsfehlern. Thermodynamische Kontrolle wird durch den Einsatz von reversiblen Reaktionstypen erreicht und zählt damit zur „Dynamic Covalent Chemistry“. Die so erhaltenen Netzwerke können lose Enden und Fehlverknüpfungen durch partielle Rückreaktion und neue Verknüpfung korrigieren.

Abbildung 2: Klassen poröser Materialien, für die in diesem Arbeitskreis Bausteine synthetisiert werden.

 

Nitroxid Austausch Netzwerke

Im Arbeitskreis Bräse wird im Augenblick mit der sogenannten Nitroxid Austausch Reaktion gearbeitet, bei der multifunktionelle Alkoxyamine und Nitroxide miteinander zu einem reversiblen Netzwerk reagieren.

       

Abbildung 3: Nitroxid-Austausch Reaktion für die reversible Darstellung von Netzwerken.[2]

Die Reaktion kann mittels Electron Paramagnetic Resonance Spectroscopy verfolgt werden, da ungepaarte Elektronen an den Nitroxiden an ihr beteiligt sind. Unterschiedliche Hyperfeinkopplungen der Nitroxide ermöglichen dabei eine genau Aussage über den Fortschritt der Reaktion und die Zahl er losen Enden im fertigen Netzwerk. Durch die Reversibilität der Reaktion lässt sich der Verknüpfungsgrad des Netzwerkes in weiten Grenzen verändern. Gleichzeitig können die Startmaterialien durch vollständiges Auflösen recycelt werden.

Weiterhin waren wir kürzlich in der Lage solche Nitroxid Austausch Netzwerke mit der Nitroxide Mediated Polymerization zu kombinieren um Porengößen im Netzwerk frei anpassen zu können.[3]

 

Cyclotetrabenzoine 

in Bearbeitung

 

Literatur

[1] Z. Hassen et al., Adv. Funct. Mater. 2020, 30, 1907625.

[2] Q. An et al., Polym. Chem. 2019, 10, 672–678.

[3] Y. Jia et al., Polym. Chem. 2020, 11, 2502.