Research Group Bräse

Porphyrin-based multi-metallic complexes

In nature, the catalytically active sites of metalloenzymes are often rigidly fixed structures in an adaptive protein matrix which defines a spatial arrangement of the metal-containing ligands relative to each other. In such systems proximity of several metal cations is typically required to achieve catalytic function. Correspondingly, strongly interacting metal sites are the basis for the unique catalytic activity of many multinuclear metalloproteins such as hemocyanin[1],[2] hemerythrin[3], superoxide dismutase[4], carbon monoxide dehydrogenase[5] or cytochrome c oxidase[6]. To gain further understanding of the unique coordination chemistry of such complexes, one ideally needs a rigid molecular system, which allows one to tune the distances between the different metal centers without also influencing them by significantly changing the ligand field. Then it becomes possible to vary the interactions between metal centers, in particular those which give rise to cooperative catalytic effects, by slight variations of the rigid framework.

Figure 1: Possible coordination spheres and the general motive of monomeric porphyrins.

One system of interest in this context is covalently linked dimeric porphyrin metal complexes which can be tuned by systematic structural variation and whose cooperative properties can be compared to those of the corresponding constituent monomers.

Figure 2: Schematic representation porphyrin-based bimetallic complexes.

Porphyrins offer the opportunity to coordinate numerous different metal ions without changing ligands and can be synthesized in a tailor-made way.[7],[8] Especially stepwise syntheses are of great interest towards rationally accessing artificial made heterobimetallic active site analogs, e.g. of the above-mentioned enzymes. This makes dimeric porphyrins a perfect choice not only to model and understand elementary enzymatic reactivity – but also for studying cooperative magnetic, catalytic, and optical properties of two spatially close-lying metal ions. In principle, three different bisporphyrin topologies are possible: coplanar, tilted and cofacial. Cofacial orientation provides closer metal-metal separations and is therefore of most interest for cooperative effects.

Based on a paper of Naruta et al. published in 2017, where a stacked Fe(III)-porphyrin dimer was synthesized and used as catalyst for the reduction of CO2 to CO, we are investigating the synthesis of new/different porphyrin dimers with rigid backbones.[9] In the case of a homobimetallic Ni(II) complex we were able to grow signal crystals and could determine the molecular structure.

         

Figure 3: Crystal structure of a homobimetallic Ni(II) porphyrin complex.

Furthermore enforced aggregation of various metal ions or prosthetic groups often constitutes an essential instrument in biological systems for the arrangement of catalytically active sites.[10] Inspired by the three-dimensional formation of bacterial photosynthetic reactions centers from Rhodopseudomonas viridis containing six interacting tetrapyrroles, several porphyrin-based synthetic models have been developed to synthesize and investigate catalysts for photosynthetic charge separation.[11],[12] Hence one should consider at least three components in a precise aggregation model and therefore we are pursuing synthetic routs to covalently linked trimeric and even larger analogs of multimetallic porphyrin complexes.

[1]              J. Brown, L. Powers, B. Kincaid, J. Larrabee, T. G. Spiro, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 1980, 102, 4210-4216.

[2]              K. Tatsumi, R. Hoffmann, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 1981, 103, 3328-3341.

[3]              I. M. Klotz, T. A. Klotz, H. A. Fiess, Arch. Biochem. Biophys. 1957, 68, 284-299.

[4]              A. Desideri, M. Falconi, F. Polticelli, M. Bolognesi, K. Djinovic, G. Rotilio, J. Mol. Biol. 1992, 223, 337-342.

[5]              H. Dobbek, V. Svetlitchnyi, L. Gremer, R. Huber, O. Meyer, Science 2001, 293, 1281-1285.

[6]              J. P. Collman, N. K. Devaraj, R. A. Decréau, Y. Yang, Y.-L. Yan, W. Ebina, T. A. Eberspacher, C. E. Chidsey, Science 2007, 315, 1565-1568.

[7]              A. Treibs, Liebig Ann. Chem. 1969, 728, 115-143.

[8]              M. O. Senge, Chem. Commun. 2011, 47, 1943-1960.

[9]              E. A. Mohamed, Z. N. Zahran, Y. Naruta, Chem. Mat. 2017, 29, 7140-7150.

[10]           G. M. Dubowchik and A. D. Hamilton, Journal of the Chemical Society, Chemical Communications 1987, 293-295.

[11]           T. Nagata, A. Osuka and K. Maruyama, Journal of the American Chemical Society 1990, 112, 3054-3059.

[12]           M. R. Wasielewski, Chemical Reviews 1992, 92, 435-461.

Arbeitskreis Bräse

Porphyrin-basierte multimetallische Komplexe

In der Natur sind die katalytisch aktiven Zentren von Metalloenzymen häufig starr fixierte Strukturen in einer adaptiven Proteinmatrix, die eine räumliche Anordnung der metallhaltigen Liganden relative zueinander definiert. Entsprechend bilden stark wechselwirkende Metallzentren die Grundlage für die einzigartige katalytische Aktivität vieler mehrkerniger Metalloproteine ​​wie Hämocyanin [1],[2] Hemerythrin [3], Superoxiddismutase [4], Kohlenmonoxiddehydrogenase [5] oder Cytochrom-C-Oxidase [6]. Um die einzigartige Koordinationschemie solcher Komplexe besser zu verstehen, benötigt man idealerweise ein starres molekulares System, mit dem man die Abstände zwischen den verschiedenen Metallzentren einstellen kann, ohne sie durch signifikante Veränderung des Ligandenfeldes zu beeinflussen. Dadurch wird es möglich, die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Metallzentren, insbesondere solchen, die kooperative katalytische Effekte hervorrufen, durch geringfügige Variationen des starren Gerüsts zu variieren.

Abbildung 1: Mögliche Koordinationsspheren und ein allgemeingültiges Motiv für monomere Porphyrine.

Ein in diesem Zusammenhang interessantes System sind kovalent verknüpte dimere Porphyrinmetallkomplexe, die durch systematische Strukturvariation angepasst werden können und die daraus resultierenden kooperativen Eigenschaften mit denen der entsprechenden Monomeren verglichen werden können.

Abbildung 2: schematische Darstellung porphyrin-basierter bimetallischer Komplexe

Porphyrine bieten die Möglichkeit, zahlreiche verschiedene Metallionen zu koordinieren, ohne die Liganden zu verändern, und können auf maßgeschneiderte Weise synthetisiert werden. [7], [8] Insbesondere schrittweise Synthesen sind von großem Interesse für den Zugang zu künstlich hergestellten heterobimetallischen Analoga der aktiven Zentren, wie der oben genannten Enzyme. Dies macht dimere Porphyrine zu einer optimalen Wahl, um nicht nur die elementare enzymatische Reaktivität zu modellieren und zu verstehen, sondern auch um kooperative magnetische, katalytische und optische Eigenschaften von zwei räumlich gekoppelten Metallionen zu untersuchen. Grundsätzlich sind drei verschiedene Bisporphyrin-Topologien möglich: coplanar, geneigt und cofacial. Die cofaciale Orientierung sorgt für engere Metall-Metall-Distanzen und ist daher für kooperative Effekte von größtem Interesse.

Basierend auf einer Arbeit von Naruta et al. veröffentlicht im Jahr 2017, in der ein gestapeltes Fe(III) -Porphyrin-Dimer synthetisiert und als Katalysator für die Reduktion von CO2 zu CO verwendet wurde, untersuchen wir die Synthese neuer / unterschiedlicher Porphyrin-Dimere mit starrem Grundgerüst. [9] Im Fall eines homobimetallischen Ni(II)-Komplexes konnten wir Einkristalle züchten und die Molekülstruktur bestimmen.

 

Abbildung 3: Kristallstruktur eines homobimetallischen Ni(II) porphyrin complex.

Darüber hinaus ist die erzwungene Aggregation verschiedener Metallionen oder prothetischer Gruppen in biologischen Systemen häufig ein wesentliches Instrument für die Anordnung katalytisch aktiver Zentren. [10] Inspiriert von der dreidimensionalen Struktur bakterieller Photosynthesereaktionszentren aus Rhodopseudomonas viridis, die sechs wechselwirkende Tetrapyrrole enthalten, wurden mehrere porphyrinbasierte Synthesemodelle entwickelt, um Katalysatoren für die photosynthetische Ladungstrennung zu synthetisieren und zu untersuchen. [11], [12] Um ein präzises Modelsystem zu entwerfen, sollten mindestens drei Komponenten in präzisen Anordnung fixiert werden. Daher verfolgen wir Synthesewege zu kovalent verknüpften Trimeren und größeren Anaologen multimetallischer Porphyrinkomplexe.

[1]              J. Brown, L. Powers, B. Kincaid, J. Larrabee, T. G. Spiro, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 1980, 102, 4210-4216.

[2]              K. Tatsumi, R. Hoffmann, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 1981, 103, 3328-3341.

[3]              I. M. Klotz, T. A. Klotz, H. A. Fiess, Arch. Biochem. Biophys. 1957, 68, 284-299.

[4]              A. Desideri, M. Falconi, F. Polticelli, M. Bolognesi, K. Djinovic, G. Rotilio, J. Mol. Biol. 1992, 223, 337-342.

[5]              H. Dobbek, V. Svetlitchnyi, L. Gremer, R. Huber, O. Meyer, Science 2001, 293, 1281-1285.

[6]              J. P. Collman, N. K. Devaraj, R. A. Decréau, Y. Yang, Y.-L. Yan, W. Ebina, T. A. Eberspacher, C. E. Chidsey, Science 2007, 315, 1565-1568.

[7]              A. Treibs, Liebig Ann. Chem. 1969, 728, 115-143.

[8]              M. O. Senge, Chem. Commun. 2011, 47, 1943-1960.

[9]              E. A. Mohamed, Z. N. Zahran, Y. Naruta, Chem. Mat. 2017, 29, 7140-7150.

[10]           G. M. Dubowchik and A. D. Hamilton, Journal of the Chemical Society, Chemical Communications 1987, 293-295.

[11]           T. Nagata, A. Osuka and K. Maruyama, Journal of the American Chemical Society 1990, 112, 3054-3059.

[12]           M. R. Wasielewski, Chemical Reviews 1992, 92, 435-461.