Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Nanostructures

The subgroup „nanostructures“ has a great interest in the synthesis of novel organic building blocks for the formation of supramolecular networks via self assembly. Over the past few years, the importance of supramolecular assemblies increased significantly, which is illustrated by the impressive and still rapidly increasing number of publications in this field of research. However, when studying previous work on this field, one will notice that most examples are limited to achiral substrates. Within our group we want to overcome this limitation and prepare chiral networks.
The best known application of highly porous structures is located in gas storage. Here, extraordinary pure organic networks which consist exclusively of light elements have a great application potential, in particular in the automobile industry. Porous materials are also widely used in opto-electronics as well as in asymmetric catalysis. New applications like the separation of racemic gases are currently examined.
Based on trityl moieties, novel organic building blocks have been prepared and structurally investigated. Substituted hexaphenyl-p-xylene (1,4-ditritylbenzene) as well as extended analogues thereof were prepared. Furthermore, a new family based on a 1,3,5-tritritylbenzene motif, connecting three trityl groups through a formal mesitylene unit, was developed. Both families were further converted through six- and nine-fold substitution reactions, respectively, to yield potent molecular building blocks for supramolecular assemblies (Figure 1).

SFB 1176 – Molecular Structuring of Soft Matter

The Cooperative Research Centre (SFB) 1176 „Molecular Structuring of Soft Matter“ investigates the design of highly defined polymeric materials along the chain, on or in a plane as well as in three-dimensional space. The application of polymeric materials is primarily defined by their molecular structure. Therefore, the aim of the SFB 1176 is the synthesis of such materials with a so far unmatched degree of structural control in 1, 2 and 3 dimensions, to achieve a precise placement of functionalities, uniformity of the chain length or a high sequence control.

The Bräse group deals with the synthesis of suitable monomers or tectones for the buildup of linear, conjugated polymers (project A4), the functionalization of silicon- and graphite-surfaces for applications in Lithium-Ion-Batteries (project B2), planar triarylamine layers for OLED-applications (project C2), as well as the synthesis of COFs (project C5) and functionalized SURGELs (project C6). As core molecules we utilize derivatives of tetraphenylmethane and adamantane, substituted triphenylbenzenes, triarylamines, biphenyl as well as terphenyl and analogue compounds. For further details regarding the projects or the SFB 1176 in general please visit: http://www.sfb1176.de/

Supramolekulare Überstrukturen

Different tetraphenylmethane- and 1,3,5,7-tetraphenyladamantane cores
Abbildung 1
Tetraphenylmethane- (left), 1,3,5,7-tetrakisphenyladamantane- (middle) and bistritylbenzene skeleton (right) with different sticky-sites R.
Schema 1
Scheme 1: Fourfold click reactions for the efficient synthesis of methane and adamantane building blocks.[2]
Schema 2
Schema 2: Fourfold cross-coupling for the synthesis of rigid methane and adamantane building blocks.[3]
Schema 3
Scheme 3: Fourfold asymmetric 1,2-additions to methane building blocks.[4]

 

Our research focuses on the synthesis of tetrahedral and pseudo octahedral organic building blocks for supramolecular superstructures. Therefore we developed a general method to synthesize simple tetraphenylmethane-, 1,3,5,7-tetraphenyladamantane- and bistritylbenzene frameworks that are functionalized with different sticky-sites afterwards. These sticky-sites are functional groups that can interact with other molecules based on the principle of molecular self assembly. Among others we managed to synthesize the tetraazide derivatives as well as exact measurements for the calculation of their energetic potentials.[1]

In addition we developed a general approach to methane- and adamantane building blocks based on the Huisgen 1,3-dipolar cycloaddition, a click reaction (scheme 1).[2]

The same strategy has been applied in different organometallic cross-couplings and also enabled interesting tetrahedral building blocks for supramolecular frameworks efficiently (scheme 2).[3]

Our group is one of the first to perform fourfold asymmetric 1,2-additions at appropriate precursors to obtain peripheral-chiral building blocks (scheme 3).[4] These building blocks assemble to enantiomeric pure networks.

 


Verschiedene Bistritylbenzol-Cores

Schema 4
Scheme 4: Synthesis of functionalized bistritylbenzene derivatives.
Schema 5
Scheme 5: Synthesis of functionalized tristritylbenzene derivatives.

Following the work on the tetrahedral cores we could transfer the synthetic strategy of tetraphenylmethane onto the so far barely mentioned bistritylbenzene (scheme 4) and therefore provide a new basic building block for the synthesis of covalent organic frameworks. In this regard we could synthesize various bistritylbenzene derivatives that are used as direct precursors for porous organic frameworks.[5][(Plietzsch, Schade et al. 2013)]

Further on, some tristritylbenzene derivatives (scheme 5) that are very suitable for the synthesis of three-dimensional frameworks were obtained.


Supramolekulare Netzwerke

Abbildung 2
Figure 2: Three different 3D DNA building block hybrids.[6,7]
Abbildung 3
Figure 3: Calculated diamond-PPN network with a porosity of 88–94%.[8]
Schema 6
Scheme 6: Hyper-cross-linked-polymers through the application of click chemistry.[9]
Schema 7
Scheme 7: Synthetic strategy for HPCs with bistritylbenzene cores.

In collaboration with Prof. Clemens Richert (University of Stuttgart) we prepared methane-, adamantane- and hexakis(p-hydroxyphenyl)xylene building blocks that contain DNA-chains connected through phosphate- or triazole groups (figure 2). Through Watson-Crick base pairing a new material was obtained with the highest melting point for DNA-nanostructures reached so far.[6,7]

In collaboration with Prof. Hong-Cai Zhou (College Station, Texas) we prepared a series of porous polymer networks (PPNs) via Yamamoto and Eglinton coupling. The structures based on methane- and adamantane monomers show good selectivity for the storage of methane carbon dioxide mixtures (figure 3).[8]

In collaboration with Dr. Angiolina Comotti and Prof. Piero Sozzani (Università degli Studi di Milano Bicocca) we prepared hyper-cross-linked-polymers (HCPs) via click chemistry (scheme 6).[9] The network based on adamantane shows good carbon storage capacities at low pressure.

Although click chemistry found big applications in biochemistry and polymer chemistry this is one of the first porous purely organic networks that were generated by click chemistry.[10,11]

Most recently it was possible to obtain three-dimensional porous networks with some bistritylbenzene derivatives after appropriate optimization of the reaction conditions by using the mentioned synthetic strategy for the tetrahedral building blocks (scheme 7) and transferring this strategy onto the pseudo octahedral equivalent. With the Huisgen 1,3-dipolar cycloaddition we obtained three HCPs with a BET-surface of up to 725 m2/g.[12]

Future studies should expand our works in the field of porous materials. These three-dimensional networks are possible to store gases like CO2 selectively, to separate gas mixtures or to serve as catalysts.


SURMOFs, PSM and SURGELs

Control of growth and properties of structures on a length scale down to molecular dimensions is one of the major challenges in nanotechnology. Metal-organic frameworks (MOFs) which are coordination polymers consisting of organic ligands linked together by metal ions, are very promising systems due to the virtually unlimited flexibility in their design.
In addition to properties of the framework itself (electrochromic, magnetic, and storage materials), MOFs can be loaded with other molecular compounds by employing a guest-host chemistry which increases the technological potential in a variety of different fields, in particular with respect to catalysis and hydrogen storage.

SURMOFs
Abbildung 4
Figure 4: Schematic representation of LPE process for the growth of SURMOFs.
Further applications emerge when MOFs are attached to surfaces. Surface-mounted metal-organic frameworks (SURMOFs) are obtained via an innovative and efficient approach by using surfaces to initiate and control the growth of MOFs (Figure 4). The method is based on epitaxially grown metal−organic frameworks deposited on modified substrates using liquid-phase epitaxy (LPE).

PSM

The properties of MOFs relevant for their various applications, such as storage, separation, shape selective catalysis, and molecular recognition, can be tuned and optimized in a rather straightforward fashion. For these cases, the so-called post-synthetic modification (PSM) offers an alternative, because the addition of the target function is carried out after the MOF lattice is formed. In particular, numerous studies have shown that MOFs built from organic linkers exhibiting functional groups, such as −NH2, −OH, −NO2, and −N3, are well-suited for the PSM process.

SURGELs
Abbildung 5
Figure 5: Cross-linking process illustration during SURGELs synthesis.

The surface-grafted gels (SURGELs) are an interesting class of 3D, highly porous, covalently bound polymer films, obtained by cross-linking the organic struts within a SURMOF (Figure 5). Combining the advantages of the MOF class of materials with that of a covalently connected gel, they offer enormous variability for introducing functional groups into the framework while featuring a pronounced stability against water and the absence of metal ions. These SURGELs can be loaded with bioactive compounds and applied as bioactive coatings and provide a drug-release platform in in vitro cell culture studies.


Literatur

[1] C. I. Schilling, S. Bräse, Org. Biomol. Chem. 2007, 5, 3586–8. Stable organic azides based on rigid tetrahedral methane and adamantane structures as high energetic materials.

[2] O. Plietzsch, C. I. Schilling, M. Tolev, M. Nieger, C. Richert, T. Muller, S. Bräse, Org. Biomol. Chem. 2009, 7, 4734–43. Four-fold click reactions: Generation of tetrahedral methane- and adamantane-based building blocks for higher-order molecular assemblies.

[3] C. I. Schilling, O. Plietzsch, M. Nieger, T. Muller, S. Bräse, European J. Org. Chem. 2011, 2011, 1743–1754. Fourfold Suzuki-Miyaura and Sonogashira Cross-Coupling Reactions on Tetrahedral Methane and Adamantane Derivatives

[4] O. Plietzsch, C. I. Schilling, M. Nieger, T. Muller, S. Bräse, Tetrahedron: Asymmetry 2010, 21, 1474–1479. Asymmetric synthesis of chiral tectons with tetrapodal symmetry: fourfold asymmetric reactions

[5] O. Plietzsch, A. Schade, A. Hafner, J. Huuskonen, K. Rissanen, M. Nieger, T. Muller, S. Bräse, European J. Org. Chem. 2013, 2013, 283–299. Synthesis and Topological Determination of Hexakis-Substituted 1,4-Ditritylbenzene and Nonakis-Substituted 1,3,5-Tritritylbenzene Derivatives: Building Blocks for Higher Supramolecular Assemblies

[6] M. Meng, C. Ahlborn, M. Bauer, O. Plietzsch, S. a Soomro, A. Singh, T. Muller, W. Wenzel, S. Bräse, C. Richert, Chembiochem 2009, 10, 1335–9. Two base pair duplexes suffice to build a novel material.

[7] A. Singh, M. Tolev, M. Meng, K. Klenin, O. Plietzsch, C. I. Schilling, T. Muller, M. Nieger, S. Bräse, W. Wenzel, et al., Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. Engl. 2011, 50, 3227–31. Branched DNA that forms a solid at 95 °C.

[8] W. Lu, D. Yuan, D. Zhao, C. I. Schilling, O. Plietzsch, T. Muller, S. Bra¨se, J. Guenther, J. Blu¨mel, R. Krishna, et al., Chem. Mater. 2010, 22, 5964–5972. Porous Polymer Networks: Synthesis, Porosity, and Applications in Gas Storage/Separation

[9] O. Plietzsch, C. I. Schilling, T. Grab, S. L. Grage, A. S. Ulrich, A. Comotti, P. Sozzani, T. Muller, S. Bräse, New J. Chem. 2011, 35, 1577. Click chemistry produces hyper-cross-linked polymers with tetrahedral cores

[10] T. Muller, S. Bräse, Angew. Chemie 2011, 123, 12046–12047. Klick-Chemie findet ihren Weg in kovalente poröse organische Materialien

[11] T. Muller, S. Bräse, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. Engl. 2011, 50, 11844–5. Click chemistry finds its way into covalent porous organic materials.

[12] A. Schade, L. Monnereau, T. Muller, S. Bräse, ChemPlusChem 2014, in press. Hexaphenyl-p-xylene, a rigid pseudo-octahedral core for 3D porous frameworks


Weitere Literatur:

T. Muller, S. Bräse, RSC Advances 2014, 4, 6886-6907. Tetraedral organic molecules as monomers for porous supramolecular networks.

L. Monnereau, M. Nieger, T. Muller, S. Bräse, Adv. Funct. Mat. 2014, 24, 1054-1058. Tetrakis(4-thiylphenyl)methane: Origin of a Reversible 3D-Polymer

M. Tsotsalas, J. Liu, B. Tettmann, S. Bräse, S. Grosjean, A. Shahnas, Z. Wang, C. Azucena, M. Addicoat, T. Heine, J. Lahann, J. Overhage, H. Gliemann, C. Wöll, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2014, 136, 8-11. Fabrication of highly uniform gel-coatings by conversion of surface-anchored metal-organic framework

Z. Wang, H. K. Arslan, J. Liu, S. Grosjean, T. Hagendorn, H. Gliemann, S. Bräse, C. Wöll, Langmuir 2013, 15958-15964. Post-synthetic modification of molecular frameworks using click chemistry: the importance of strained C-C triple bonds

Jinxuan Liu, Binit Lukose, Osama Shekhah, Hasan Kemal Arslan, Peter Weidler, Hartmut Gliemann, Stefan Bräse, Sylvain Grosjean, Adelheid Godt, Xinliang Feng, Klaus Müllen, Ioan-Bogdan Magdau, Thomas Heine & Christof Wöll, Sci. Rep. 2012, 2, 921. A novel series of isoreticular metal-organic frameworks: realizing metastable structures by liquid phase epitaxy.

Lars Heinke, Murat Cakici, Marcel Dommaschk, Sylvain Grosjean, Rainer Herges, Stefan Bräse, and Christof Wöll, ACS Nano 2014, 8, 1463-1467. Photoswitching in Two-Component Surface Mounted Metal-Organic Frameworks: Optically Triggered Release from a Molecular Container.

Mitglieder

Dr. Christin Bednarek
Dr. Sylvain Grosjean
Dr. Ksenia Kutonova
Mathias Lang
Yannick Matt
Isabelle Wessely

Frühere Mitglieder

Philipp Beyler
Christoph Hussal
Dr. Laure Monnereau
Dr. Thierry Muller
Dr. Philippe Pierrat
Dr. Oliver Plietzsch
Dr. Céline Réthoré
Dr. Alexandra Schade
Dr. Christine I. Schilling
Dr. Stefan Seifermann

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Hochporöse Gerüststrukturen & Linkersynthese

Die Untergruppe im Bereich der Gerüststrukturen ist unter anderem an der Synthese neuartiger organischer Bausteine interessiert, die zum Aufbau supramolekularer Netzwerke durch Selbstorganisation verwendet werden können. Im Laufe der letzten Jahre stieg die Bedeutung supramolekularer Baueinheiten signifikant an, was durch die beeindruckende und noch immer stark ansteigende Anzahl an Publikationen in diesem Forschungsgebiet verdeutlicht wird. In unserer Gruppe erfolgt zusätzlich die Darstellung chiraler Netzwerke, da diese das ohnehin schon vorhandene breite Anwendungsspektrum jener Konstruktionen zusätzlich erweitern.
Die bekannteste Anwendung von hochporösen Strukturen liegt in der Gasspeicherung, welche insbesondere in der Automobilindustrie von zunehmendem Interesse ist. Hier haben rein organische Netzwerke sehr großes Anwendungspotential, da sie ausschließlich aus leichten Elementen bestehen. Hochporöse Gerüststrukturen finden darüber hinaus noch in der Opto-Elektronik sowie in der asymmetrischen Katalyse Anwendung. Chiral modifizierte Netzwerke können zusätzlich zur Racemattrennung eingesetzt werden.

SFB 1176 – Molekulare Strukturierung weicher Materie

Der Sonderforschungsbereich (SFB) 1176 „Molekulare Strukturierung weicher Materie“ beschäftigt sich mit dem Design hochdefinierter polymerer Materialien entlang einer Kette, auf oder in einer Ebene sowie im dreidimensionalen Raum. Die Anwendung von polymeren Materialien wird vorranging von ihrer molekularen Struktur bestimmt. Der SFB 1176 hat daher das Ziel solche Materialien mit einer bisher nicht erreichten strukturellen Kontrolle in 1-, 2- & 3-Dimension(en) darzustellen, um beispielweise an definierten Positionen Funktionalitäten einzubauen, eine enge Größenverteilung zu erreichen oder eine hohe Sequenzkontrolle zu erzielen. Die Arbeitsgruppe Bräse beschäftigt sich mit der Synthese geeigneter Monomere und Tektone für den Aufbau von linearen, konjugierten Polymeren (Projekt A4), der Funktionalisierung von Silizium- & Graphitoberflächen für Anwendungen in Lithium-Ionen-Batterien (Projekt B2), planaren Triarylaminschichten für OLED-Anwendungen (Projekt C2) sowie der Synthese von COFs (Projekt C5) und funktionalisierten SURGELs (Projekt C6). Als Grundlage dienen dabei erneut die bereits vorgestellten Tetraphenylmethan- und Adamantanderivate, aber auch substituierte Triphenylbenzole, Triarylamine sowie Bi- und Terphenyle und analoge Verbindungen. Für weitere Details zu den Projekten und dem Ziel des SFB 1176 sei an dieser Stelle auf die offizielle Homepage verwiesen: http://www.sfb1176.de/

Supramolekulare Überstrukturen

Verschiedene Tetraphenylmethan- und 1,3,5,7-Tetraphenyladamantan-Cores
Abbildung 1
Abbildung 1: Tetraphenylmethan- (links), 1,3,5,7-Tetrakisphenyladamantan- (mittig) und Bistritylbenzol-Grundgerüste (rechts) mit verschiedenen "sticky-sites" R.
Schema 1
Schema 1: Vierfach Click Reaktionen zur effizienten Herstellung von Methan und Adamantan Bausteinen.[2]
Schema 2
Schema 2: Vierfache Kreuzkupplungsreaktionen zur Herstellung von starren Methan und Adamantan Bausteinen.[3]
Schema 3
Schema 3: Vierfache asymmetrische 1,2-Additionen an Methan-Bausteine.[4]

Unser Forschungsinteresse bezieht sich auf die Synthese tetraedrischer und pseudo-oktaedrischer organischer Bausteine zur Darstellung von supramolekularen Überstrukturen. Hierfür haben wir eine allgemeine Methodik entwickelt um einfache Tetraphenylmethan-, 1,3,5,7-Tetraphenyladamantan- und Bistritylbenzol-Grundgerüste darzustellen, welche anschließend mit unterschiedlichen „sticky-sites“ funktionalisiert werden. Diese sogenannten „sticky-sites“ sind funktionelle Gruppen, welche in der Lage sind, nach dem Prinzip der molekularen Selbsterkennung Wechselwirkungen zu anderen Molekülen auszubilden (Abbildung 1). Unter anderem gelang uns die Synthese der Tetraazid-Derivate sowie genauere Messungen zur Berechnung ihrer energetischen Potentiale.[1]

Des Weiteren haben wir einen allgemeinen Zugang zu Methan- und Adamantan-Bausteinen entwickelt, der auf der Husigen 1,3-dipolaren Cycloaddition, einer Click Reaktion, beruht (Schema 1).[2]

Die gleiche Strategie wurde mit verschiedenen organo-metallischen Kreuzkupplungsreaktionen angewendet und führte auch hier zum effizienten Zugang von interessanten tetraedrischen Bausteinen für supramolekulare Gerüste (Schema 2).[3]

Unser Arbeitskreis gehörte auch zu den ersten, die peripheral-chirale Bausteine durch vierfache asymmetrische 1,2-Additionen an entsprechenden Vorläufern durchgeführt haben (Schema 3).[4] Diese Bausteine sollen sich zu entaniomerenreinen Netzwerken zusammensetzen.

 

 

 


Verschiedene Bistritylbenzol-Cores

Schema 4
Schema 4: Synthese funktionalisierter Bistritylbenzol-Derivate.
Schema 5
Schema 5: Synthese funktionalisierter Tristritylbenzol-Derivate.
In Anlehnung an die Vorarbeiten an den tetraedrischen Cores konnten wir die Synthesestrategie des Tetraphenylmethans auf das bis dato wenig literaturbekannte Bistritylbenzol übertragen (Schema 4) und haben somit einen neuen Grundbaustein für die Synthese kovalent organischer Netzwerke bereitgestellt. In diesem Zuge war es uns möglich diverse Bistritylbenzol-Derivate zu synthetisieren, die als direkte Vorläufer poröser organischer Netzwerke dienen sollten.[5][(Plietzsch, Schade et al. 2013)]

Des Weiteren konnten einige Tristritylbenzol-Derivate (Schema 5) erhalten werden, die sich wiederum sehr gut für die Synthese dreidimensionaler Netzwerke eignen sollten.

Supramolekulare Netzwerke

Abbildung 2
Abbildung 2: Drei verschiedene 3D DNA–Baustein-Hybride.[6,7]
Abbildung 3
Abbildung 3: Berechnetes Diamant-PPN Netzwerk mit einer Porosität von 88–94%.[8]
Schema 6
Schema 6: Hochvernetzte Polymere durch Einsatz von Click Chemie.[9]
Schema 7
Schema 7: Synthesestrategie für HPCs mit Bistritylbenzol-Cores.

In Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Clemens Richart (Universität Stuttgart), konnten wir Methan-, Adamantan- und Hexakis(p-hydroxyphenyl)xylol-Bausteine, die über Phosphat- oder Triazol-verknüpfte DNA-Ketten enthalten, herstellen (Abbildung 2). Über Watson-Crick Basenpaarung wurde ein neues Material erhalten, das einen für DNA-Nanostrukturen bislang unerreicht hohen Schmelzpunkt aufweist.[6,7]

In Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Hong-Cai Zhou (College Station, Texas), haben wir eine Reihe von Porösen Polymer Netzwerken PPNs über Yamamoto und Eglinton Kupplung hergestellt. Die auf Methan- und Adamantan-Monomer basierenden Strukturen weisen eine gute Selektivität bei der Einlagerung von Methan–Karbondioxid Gemischen auf (Abbildung 3).[8]

In Zusammenarbeit mit Dr. Angiolina Comotti und Prof. Piero Sozzani (Università degli Studi di Milano Bicocca) konnten wir hochvernetze Polymere (HCPs) durch Click Chemie herstellen (Schema 6).[9] Das Adamantan basierte Netzwerk weist gute Kohlenstoff-Speicherkapazitäten bei niedrigem Druck auf.

Obwohl Click Chemie große Anwendung in der Biochemie und Polymerchemie fand, ist dieses erst eines der ersten porösen rein-organischen Netzwerke die durch Click-Chemie erzeugt wurden.[10,11]

Zuletzt war es uns möglich mit einigen Bistritylbenzol-Derivate nach entsprechender Reaktionsoptimierung dreidimensionale poröse Netzwerke zu erhalten, indem wir auf die bereits erwähnte Synthesestrategie für die tetraedrischen Bausteine zurückgegriffen haben (Schema 7) und diese erfolgreich auf das pseudo-oktaedrische Pendant übertragen konnten. Mit Hilfe der Huisgen 1,3-dipolaren Cycloaddition erhielten wir drei sogenannte Hyper-Cross-linked-Polymers (HCPs) mit einer BET-Oberfläche von bis zu 725 m2/g.[12]

Zukünftig sollen die Arbeiten auf dem Gebiet poröser Materialien weiter ausgebaut werden. Denn diese dreidimensionalen Netzwerke könnten in der Lage sein Gase wie z.B. CO2 selektiv zu speichern, Gasgemische zu separieren oder als Katalysatoren zu dienen.


SURMOFs, PSM und SURGELs

Die Kontrolle über Wachstum und Eigenschaften von Strukturen auf molekularer Ebene ist eine der größten Herausforderungen in der Nanotechnologie. Metall-organische Netzwerke (metal-organic frameworks, MOFs) – Koordinationspolymere bestehend aus organischen Linkern, die über Metallionen miteinander verknüpft werden – sind aufgrund ihrer nahezu unbegrenzten Flexibilität im Design vielversprechende Systeme.
Zusätzkich zu den Eigenschaften des Netzwerks selbst (elektrochrome, megnatische und Speichermaterialien), können MOFs über eine Wirt-Gast-Chemie (guest-host chemistry) andere molekulare Verbindungen aufnehmen. Dies erhöht das technologische Potential in einer Vielzahl verschiedener Bereiche, insbesondere in der Katalyse und in der Wasserstoffspeicherung.
SURMOFs
Abbildung 4
Abbildung 4: Schematische Darstellung des LPE-Prozesses.
Weitere Anwendungen entstehen, wenn MOFs an Oberflächen aufgebracht werden. An Oberflächen befestigte Metall-organische Netzwerke (surface-mounted metal-organic frameworks, SURMOFs) können über einen innovativen und effizienten Ansatz, bei dem die Oberfläche das Wachstum der MOFs einleitet und kontrolliert, erhalten werden. Die Methode basiert auf kristallin gewachsenen MOFs, die auf modifizierten Substraten durch Flüssigphasenepitaxie (LPE) abgeschieden werden (Abbildung 4).

PSM

Die Eigenschaften von MOFs, die für ihre verschiedenen Anwendungen, wie Speicherung und Trennung von Molekülen, formselektive Katalyse und molekulare Erkennung, relevant sind, können mit einer ziemlich einfachen Methode abgestimmt und optimiert werden. Hierfür stellt die sogenannte post-synthetische Modifikation (post-synthetic modification, PSM) eine geeignete Methode dar, da die Zielfunktion erst nach dem Aufbau des MOF-Gitters eingeführt wird. Zahlreiche Studien haben gezeigt, dass insbesondere MOFs, die aus organischen Linkern mit funktionellen Gruppen, wie –NH2, −OH, −NO2 und –N3, aufgebaut sind, für PSM-Prozesse sehr geeignet sind.

SURGELs
Abbildung 5
Abbildung 5: Vernetzungsprozess bei der Synthese von SURGELs (oben: Beispiel, unten: Schematisch).

Oberflächenbeschichtete Gele (surface-grafted gels, SURGELs), sind eine interessante Klasse dreidimensionaler, hoch poröser, kovalent gebundener Polymerfime, die durch die Vernetzung der organischen Streben innerhalb eines SURMOFs erhalten werden können (Abbildung 5). Da sie die Vorteile der MOFs mit denen der kovalent verknüpften Gele vereinen, bieten sie eine enorme Variabilität bei der Einführung von funktionellen Gruppen in das Netzwerk und aufgrund dem fehlenden Metallion eine ausgeprägte Stabilität gegenüber Wasser.


Literatur

[1] C. I. Schilling, S. Bräse, Org. Biomol. Chem. 2007, 5, 3586–8. Stable organic azides based on rigid tetrahedral methane and adamantane structures as high energetic materials.

[2] O. Plietzsch, C. I. Schilling, M. Tolev, M. Nieger, C. Richert, T. Muller, S. Bräse, Org. Biomol. Chem. 2009, 7, 4734–43. Four-fold click reactions: Generation of tetrahedral methane- and adamantane-based building blocks for higher-order molecular assemblies.

[3] C. I. Schilling, O. Plietzsch, M. Nieger, T. Muller, S. Bräse, European J. Org. Chem. 2011, 2011, 1743–1754. Fourfold Suzuki-Miyaura and Sonogashira Cross-Coupling Reactions on Tetrahedral Methane and Adamantane Derivatives

[4] O. Plietzsch, C. I. Schilling, M. Nieger, T. Muller, S. Bräse, Tetrahedron: Asymmetry 2010, 21, 1474–1479. Asymmetric synthesis of chiral tectons with tetrapodal symmetry: fourfold asymmetric reactions

[5] O. Plietzsch, A. Schade, A. Hafner, J. Huuskonen, K. Rissanen, M. Nieger, T. Muller, S. Bräse, European J. Org. Chem. 2013, 2013, 283–299. Synthesis and Topological Determination of Hexakis-Substituted 1,4-Ditritylbenzene and Nonakis-Substituted 1,3,5-Tritritylbenzene Derivatives: Building Blocks for Higher Supramolecular Assemblies

[6] M. Meng, C. Ahlborn, M. Bauer, O. Plietzsch, S. a Soomro, A. Singh, T. Muller, W. Wenzel, S. Bräse, C. Richert, Chembiochem 2009, 10, 1335–9. Two base pair duplexes suffice to build a novel material.

[7] A. Singh, M. Tolev, M. Meng, K. Klenin, O. Plietzsch, C. I. Schilling, T. Muller, M. Nieger, S. Bräse, W. Wenzel, et al., Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. Engl. 2011, 50, 3227–31. Branched DNA that forms a solid at 95 °C.

[8] W. Lu, D. Yuan, D. Zhao, C. I. Schilling, O. Plietzsch, T. Muller, S. Bräse, J. Guenther, J. Blümel, R. Krishna, et al., Chem. Mater. 2010, 22, 5964–5972. Porous Polymer Networks: Synthesis, Porosity, and Applications in Gas Storage/Separation

[9] O. Plietzsch, C. I. Schilling, T. Grab, S. L. Grage, A. S. Ulrich, A. Comotti, P. Sozzani, T. Muller, S. Bräse, New J. Chem. 2011, 35, 1577. Click chemistry produces hyper-cross-linked polymers with tetrahedral cores

[10] T. Muller, S. Bräse, Angew. Chemie 2011, 123, 12046–12047. Klick-Chemie findet ihren Weg in kovalente poröse organische Materialien

[11] T. Muller, S. Bräse, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. Engl. 2011, 50, 11844–5. Click chemistry finds its way into covalent porous organic materials.

[12] A. Schade, L. Monnereau, T. Muller, S. Bräse, ChemPlusChem 2014, in press. Hexaphenyl-p-xylene, a rigid pseudo-octahedral core for 3D porous frameworks


Weitere Literatur:

T. Muller, S. Bräse, RSC Advances 2014, 4, 6886-6907. Tetraedral organic molecules as monomers for porous supramolecular networks.

L. Monnereau, M. Nieger, T. Muller, S. Bräse, Adv. Funct. Mat. 2014, 24, 1054-1058. Tetrakis(4-thiylphenyl)methane: Origin of a Reversible 3D-Polymer

M. Tsotsalas, J. Liu, B. Tettmann, S. Bräse, S. Grosjean, A. Shahnas, Z. Wang, C. Azucena, M. Addicoat, T. Heine, J. Lahann, J. Overhage, H. Gliemann, C. Wöll, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2014, 136, 8-11. Fabrication of highly uniform gel-coatings by conversion of surface-anchored metal-organic framework

Z. Wang, H. K. Arslan, J. Liu, S. Grosjean, T. Hagendorn, H. Gliemann, S. Bräse, C. Wöll, Langmuir 2013, 15958-15964. Post-synthetic modification of molecular frameworks using click chemistry: the importance of strained C-C triple bonds

Jinxuan Liu, Binit Lukose, Osama Shekhah, Hasan Kemal Arslan, Peter Weidler, Hartmut Gliemann, Stefan Bräse, Sylvain Grosjean, Adelheid Godt, Xinliang Feng, Klaus Müllen, Ioan-Bogdan Magdau, Thomas Heine & Christof Wöll, Sci. Rep. 2012, 2, 921. A novel series of isoreticular metal-organic frameworks: realizing metastable structures by liquid phase epitaxy.

Lars Heinke, Murat Cakici, Marcel Dommaschk, Sylvain Grosjean, Rainer Herges, Stefan Bräse, and Christof Wöll, ACS Nano 2014, 8, 1463-1467. Photoswitching in Two-Component Surface Mounted Metal-Organic Frameworks: Optically Triggered Release from a Molecular Container.

Mitglieder

Dr. Christin Bednarek
Dr. Sylvain Grosjean
Dr. Ksenia Kutonova
Mathias Lang
Yannick Matt
Isabelle Wessely

Frühere Mitglieder

Philipp Beyler
Christoph Hussal
Dr. Laure Monnereau
Dr. Thierry Muller
Dr. Philippe Pierrat
Dr. Oliver Plietzsch
Dr. Céline Réthoré
Dr. Alexandra Schade
Dr. Christine I. Schilling
Dr. Stefan Seifermann