Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

TADF Copper(I) complexes

The principal of thermally activated delayed fluorescence (TADF) is nowadays one of the most promising concepts for materials used in organic light-emitting diodes (OLEDs). Especially the interest in luminescent copper(I) complexes as TADF materials has risen due to harvesting of both singlet and triplet excitons without the use of heavy and usually rare metals such as iridium or platinum.[1] Furthermore, copper(I) has a large abundance compared to Ir(III) and Pt(II). Complexes with the related atoms gold and silver are also of high interest because of the enhancement of luminescence in the presence of metallophilic inter­actions, which is particularly true for gold. Besides choosing the right metal, the ligand design is significant to decrease the energy separation between the lowest excited singlet and triplet states for influencing the optoelectronic properties. The preparation of complexes which are simultaneously stable in solution and against redox reactions are additional challenges in finding new and suitable compounds for OLED devices. With the luminescent NHetPhos cooper halide complexes we present a class of soluble complexes with tunable emission properties and wide variety.[2-5]

[1] H. Yersin, Coord. Chem. Rev. 2011, 255, 2622–2652.

[2] D. Volz, S. Bräse, Chem. Mater. 2013, 25, 3414–3426.

[3] D. Zink, S. Bräse, Chem. Mater. 2013, 25, 4471–4486.

[4] D. Volz, S. Bräse, Inorg. Chem. 2014, 53, 7837–7847.

[5] D. Volz, S. Bräse, Adv. Mater. 2015, 27, 2538.

Metall-Komplexe

Konfiguration der Paracyclophane

Configurations of paracyclophanes

This subgroup’s task is the synthesis of geometrically fixed, chiral polynuclear organometallic complexes and the investigation of their catalytic and optical properties. We use di- and higher functionalized [2.2]paracyclophanes as well as [2](1,4)benzeno[2](2,5)pyridinophanes with different donor motifs as ligand systems. The rigid structure of the paracyclophane framework ensures a defined structural relation of the complexed metal centers to each other. The obtained complexes are tested in different reactions as potential asymmetric multi-metal catalysts and, in collaboration with other groups, the cooperation of the metal centers and their optical properties are investigated.

Syntheserouten verschiedener PC Derivate

Synthetic routes of different PC derivatives

Starting from [2.2]paracyclophane 4-acetyl-5-hydroxy-[2.2]paracyclophane (AHPC) as well as pyrazole-derivatives were synthesized already. The current research focuses on the synthesis of pyridine-, pyrimidine- and triazole-derivatives.

 Syntheserouten für das Pyridinophan-Grundgerüst

Synthetic routes for the pyridinophan framework

Similar synthetic routes are available for the pyridinophane framework, while this framework already shows chirality in the unsubstituted form.

Another topic of the group are luminescent metal complexes. These complexes are in focus of many studies for their potential application as OLEDs (organic light emitting diodes) and solar cells. In the OLED field complexes were synthesized that show a significant increase in luminescence, e.g. triplet emitters. Although coordination compounds with triazole ligands and copper are already known, luminescent complexes with ClickPhos ligands are widely unknown. Such compounds have great potential in this field because of their economical synthesis, their good optical properties and the modal structure.

 

 Verschiedene ClickPhos-Kupfer(I)iodid Komplexe

Different ClickPhos-Cu(I)iodine complexes

Through altering the electronic and steric properties of the triazole ligands, the resulting luminescence spectrum is tunable. The introduction of further heteroatoms in the nitrogenous chelating ligands leads to a variety of possible luminescent copper complexes.

 

Photolumineszenzspektrum HOMO/LUMO-Berechnungen HOMO/LUMO-Berechnungen

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

TADF Kupfer(I) Komplexe

Das Prinzip der thermischen aktivierten verzögerten Fluoreszenz (thermally activated delayed fluorescence, TADF) ist heutzutage eines der vielversprechendsten Konzepte für OLED (organic light-emitting diode) Materialien. Besonders das Interesse an lumineszenten Kupfer(I) Komplexen als TADF Materialien ist, aufgrund der Aberntung von Singulett und Triplett Excitonen ohne Verwendung von seltenen Schwermetallatomen wie Iridium oder Platin, gestiegen.[1] Darüber hinaus hat Kupfer(I) eine große Häufigkeit im Vergleich zu Ir(III) and Pt(II). Komplexe mit den verwandten Atomen Gold und Silber sind ebenso von großem Interesse, da die Lumineszenz durch die Präsenz von metallophilen Interaktionen verstärkt wird, was vor allem auf Gold zutrifft. Neben der Wahl des Metalls, ist auch das Ligandendesign entscheidend, um die Energieaufspaltung zwischen dem niedrigsten angeregten Singulett und Triplett Zustand zu verringern und die entsprechenden optoelektronischen Eigenschaften gezielt zu beeinflussen. Die Darstellung von Komplexen, die gleichzeitig stabil in Lösung und gegenüber Redox-Reaktionen sind, sind zusätzliche Herausforderungen bei der Entwicklung neuer, geeigneter Komponenten für OLED Devices. Mit den lumineszenten NHetPhos Kupferhalogenidkomplexen präsentiert unsere Arbeitsgruppe eine Klasse löslicher Komplexe mit abstimmbaren Emissionseigenschaften und einer großen Vielfalt.[2-5]

[1] H. Yersin, Coord. Chem. Rev. 2011, 255, 2622–2652.

[2] D. Volz, S. Bräse, Chem. Mater. 2013, 25, 3414–3426.

[3] D. Zink, S. Bräse, Chem. Mater. 2013, 25, 4471–4486.

[4] D. Volz, S. Bräse, Inorg. Chem. 2014, 53, 7837–7847.

[5] D. Volz, S. Bräse, Adv. Mater. 2015, 27, 2538.

Metall-Komplexe

Metall-Komplexe

Konfiguration der Paracyclophane

Konfiguration der Paracyclophane

Aufgabenbereich dieser Untergruppe ist die Synthese geometrisch fixierter, chiraler mehrkerniger metallorganischer Komplexe und die Untersuchung ihrer katalytischen und optischen Eigenschaften. Als Ligandsystem bedienen wir uns di- und höherfunktionalisierter [2.2]Paracyclophane sowie [2](1,4)Benzeno[2](2,5)pyridinophane mit verschiedenen Donormotiven, die durch die rigide Struktur des Paracyclophangerüstes die komplexierten Metallzentren in eine definierte strukturelle Beziehung zueinander bringen. Die erhaltenen Komplexe werden in verschiedenen Reaktionen als potentielle asymmetrische, multimetallische Katalysatoren getestet und, in Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Arbeitsgruppen, die Kooperation der Metallzentren sowie deren optische Eigenschaften untersucht.

 Syntheserouten verschiedener PC Derivate

Ausgehend von dem [2.2]Paracyclophan ließen sich bereits 4-Acetyl-5-hydroxy-[2.2]paracyclophan (AHPC), sowie Pyrazol-Derivate darstellen. Die aktuelle Forschung beschäftigt sich mit der Synthese der Pyridin-, Pyrimidin- und Triazol-Derivate.

 Syntheserouten für das Pyridinophan-Grundgerüst

Ähnliche Syntheserouten finden sich auch im Pyridinophan-Grundgerüst wieder, wobei dieses bereits in der nicht-substituierten Form Chiralität aufweist.

Ein anderer Schwerpunkt der Gruppe sind lumineszierende Metallkomplexe. Diese sind im Blickpunkt vieler wissenschaftlicher Untersuchungen, weil sie Potential in der Anwendung als OLEDs (organic light emitting diodes) und Solarzellen haben. Im Bereich der OLEDs konnten Komplexe dargestellt werden, die eine deutliche Steigerung der Lumineszenz aufweisen, z. B. Triplet Emitter. Obwohl Koordinationsverbindungen mit Triazol Liganden und Kupfer bereits bekannt sind, sind lumineszierende Komplexe mit ClickPhos Liganden soweit unbekannt. Solche Verbindungen besitzen in diesem Bereich großes Potential, weil ihre Darstellung ökonomisch verläuft, sie gute optische Eigenschaften besitzen und sie modale Strukturen bilden.

 Verschiedene ClickPhos-Kupfer(I)iodid Komplexe

Indem man die elektronischen und sterischen Eigenschaften der Triazol Liganden verändert, lässt sich das resultierende Lumineszenzspektrum variieren. Mit der Einführung weiterer Heteroatome in diese stickstoffhaltigen chelatisierenden Liganden lässt sich eine Vielzahl weiterer möglicher lumineszierender Kupferkomplexe darstellen.