Research Group Bräse

Opportunities during the doctorate

In addition to practical work during the doctoral period, the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), the Faculty of Chemistry and Biosciences, and the Bräse working group offer various opportunities for personal further education.

Science and Management

With Science & Management, the Collège des Ingénieurs offers a doctoral program that enables scientists to complete their doctorate and the MBA program simultaneously. For years, the Collège has been cooperating with renowned universities, including the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Doctoral students benefit from the opportunity to pursue their research interests while immersing themselves in the business world. Doing a doctorate and completing an MBA at the same time - this combination is currently only possible in Germany in this form at the Collège des Ingénieurs. Further information on the Science & Management programme can be found on the CDI homepage and at sam.chem-bio.kit.edu.

Current Fellows of the Arbeitskreis Bräse at the Collège des Ingénieurs are Gloria Hong, Hannes Kühner and Steffen Otterbach.

 

HEiKa Graduate School

The HEiKA Graduate School on “Functional Materials” is a central structural element of the "3D Matter Made to Order" (3DMM2O) Cluster. Aside the scientific research, the graduate school offers a module program preparing the doctoral researchers for a highly interdisciplinary research field.

In addition, annual Research conferences in rotating subfields of the Cluster, and annual retreats of the doctoral researchers are part of the Graduate School program. Furthermore, regularly welcome and networking events are offered.

The Graduate School’s offer contributes to the continuous deepening of the partnerships and to the development of new cross-disciplinary connections between the PIs, doctoral researchers and PostDocs from KIT and the Heidelberg University. More information can be found at the homepage.

Current members of the HEiKA Graduate School are Hannes Kühner, Evelyne Kwiatkowski, Yannick Matt, Simon Oßwald and Christoph Schissler.

Karlsruhe School of Optics and Photonics

Optics & Photonics are key enabling technologies for many high-end industrial applications and furthermore drive research in physics, chemistry, biology, and engineering. The Karlsruhe School of Optics & Photonics (KSOP) provides a multidisciplinary environment for first-class research and education as well as for the generation of knowledge and innovation in Optics & Photonics. KSOP research activities cover a wide range of topics within five Research Areas (RA):

RA I = Photonic Materials & Devices

RA II = Quantum Optics & Spectroscopy

RA III = Biomedical Photonics

RA IV = Optical Systems

RA V = Solar Energy

Comprising both M.Sc. and Ph.D. programs, KSOP presently encompasses professors from four different faculties at KIT, i.e., Physics, Electrical and Mechanical engineering, as well as Chemistry and Biosciences. By now, almost 800 Master and PhD students and alumni from 40 different countries are part of KSOP. Next to this the KSOP holds strong cooperation support by the European Erasmus Mundus program, the German O&P industry, the Federal Ministry of Research and Education, and, sustainably, by the State of Baden-Württemberg.

The KSOP educational concept is designed to qualify our graduates for accelerated careers at world leading academic institutions and in high-technology industries. We actively promote the thesis work of our doctoral researchers by dedicated supervision, mentoring, networking as well as scientific and technical training. Concomitantly, we augment the professional skills of our graduates by tailored personal- and management training. A strong pillar of the KSOP concept is the individual coaching of doctoral researchers by one mentor for each Research Area.

Ph.D. course modules

Management Modules

Technical Modules

Scientific Modules

MBA Fundamentals Program (optional)

In 2011, the Bräse group joined KSOP. (Research Area I). On the one hand, we work on peptoids marked with fluorescence dyes to gain new insights in biological systems. Another focus is the designing and synthesis of new efficient materials for organic light-emitting diodes (OLEDs) and for organic solar cells (OSC).

Find out more about KSOP under www.ksop.de

Current members are Dr. Jasmin Busch and Lisa-Lou Gracia.

Alumni

Dr. Fabian Hundemer, Dr. Eduard Spuling, Dr. Alena Kalyakina, Dr. Mirella Wawryszyn, Dr. Dominik Kölmel, Dr. Daniel Volz

GradCHEMBIO

The graduate school for chemistry and biosciences (GradCHEMBIO) offers a scientific and soft-skill program while accompanying and complementing the individual scientific education of its members.

GradCHEMBIO offers 1 soft skill course, one retreat and the financial aid to attend an interantional meeting.

More information on the graduate school can be found on the homepage.

BioInterfaces International Graduate School

The BioInterfaces International Graduate School (BIF-IGS) at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) provides a structured PhD programme for BioInterfaces in Technology and Medicine, a transdisciplinary research programme of the Helmholtz-association. It aims to attract outstanding students and to offer research opportunities, education and training in the trans- and multi-disciplinary research areas of the BioInterfaces programme, which encompasses a breadth of disciplines including biology, chemistry, physics, engineering and informatics.

This training allows students to prepare for future careers in professional fields such as the health sciences, biotechnology, physics, chemistry and environmental science. Our students gain a unique experience by working in a stimulating environment of transdisciplinary research, using state-of-the-art technology.

More information can be found on the homepage.

Arbeitskreis Bräse

Möglichkeiten während der Promotion

Neben der praktischen Arbeit in der Promotion bieten das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), die Fakultät für Chemie und Biowissenschaften, sowie der Arbeitskreis Bräse verschiedene Möglichkeiten zur persönlichen Weiterbildung an.

Science und Management

Das Collège des Ingénieurs bietet mit Science & Management ist ein promotionsbegleitendes Programm an, das es Wissenschaftlern ermöglicht, ihre Promotion und das MBA-Programm gleichzeitig zu absolvieren. Schon seit Jahren kooperiert das Collège mit renommierten Universitäten, unter anderem dem Karlsruher Institut für Tecnologie (KIT). Die Promovenden profitieren von der Möglichkeit, ihre Forschungsinteressen verfolgen zu können und zugleich in die Businesswelt einzutauchen. Promovieren und parallel einen MBA abzuschließen – diese Kombination ist momentan in Deutschland in dieser Form nur am Collège des Ingénieurs möglich. Weitere Informationen zum Programm Science & Management sind auf der Homepage des CDI und unter sam.chem-bio.kit.edu zu finden.

Aktuelle Fellows des Arbeitskreises Bräse am Collège des Ingénieurs sind Gloria Hong, Hannes Kühner und Steffen Otterbach.

 

HEiKa Graduate School

Die HEiKA Graduate School "Functional Materials" ist ein zentrales Strukturelement des Clusters "3D Matter Made to Order" (3DMM2O). Neben der wissenschaftlichen Forschung bietet die Graduiertenschule ein Modulprogramm, das die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden auf ein stark interdisziplinäres Forschungsfeld vorbereitet.

Darüber hinaus sind jährliche Forschungskonferenzen in rotierenden Teilfeldern des Clusters und jährliche Klausuren der Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden Teil des Graduiertenkollegs. Darüber hinaus werden regelmäßig Begrüßungs- und Networking-Veranstaltungen angeboten.

Das Angebot der Graduiertenschule trägt zur kontinuierlichen Vertiefung der Partnerschaften und zur Entwicklung neuer fächerübergreifender Verbindungen zwischen den PIs, Doktoranden und PostDocs des KIT und der Universität Heidelberg bei. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Homepage.

Derzeitige Mitglieder der HEiKA Graduiertenschule sind Hannes Kühner, Yannick Matt, Simon Oßwald und Christoph Schissler.

Karlsruhe School of Optics and Photonics (KSOP)

Antriebsfeder für Fortschritte in Optik und Photonik sind faszinierende wissenschaftliche Herausforderungen, unerwartete Durchbrüche, und ein gewaltiger Markt mit einem jährlichen Umsatz von mehr als einhundert Milliarden Euro. Als unterstützende Technologie beeinflussen Optik und Photonik außerdem maßgeblich neue Entwicklungen in Bereichen wie Physik, Chemie, Biologie sowie Elektrotechnik und Maschinenbau. Die Karlsruhe School of Optics and Photonics (KSOP) bietet ein multidisziplinäres Umfeld für erstklassige Forschung und Ausbildung sowie für die Generierung von Wissen und Innovation in Optik und Photonik. Die Forschungsaktivitäten der KSOP decken ein breites Spektrum von Themen innerhalb von fünf Forschungsbereichen ab:

Bereich I: Photonische Materialien und Bauelemente

Bereich II: Quantenoptik & Spektroskopie

Bereich III: Biomedizinische Photonik

Bereich IV: Optische Systeme

Bereich V: Solarenergie

Die KSOP umfasst sowohl Master- als auch Doktorandenprogramme und derzeit Professoren aus vier verschiedenen Fakultäten des KIT, nämlich Physik, Elektrotechnik und Maschinenbau sowie Chemie und Biowissenschaften. Mittlerweile sind fast 800 Masterstudenten, Doktoranden und Alumni aus 40 verschiedenen Ländern an der KSOP beteiligt. Daneben verfügt die KSOP über eine starke Kooperationsförderung durch das europäische Erasmus-Mundus-Programm, die deutsche O&P Industrie, das Bundesministerium für Forschung und Bildung und nachhaltig durch das Land Baden-Würrtemberg.

Das KSOP Ausbildungsprinzip iist darauf ausgerichtet, unsere Absolventen für eine beschleunigte Karriere an weltweit führenden akademischen Institutionen und in der Hochtechnologiebranche zu qualifizieren. Wir fördern aktiv die Promotion unserer Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden durch engagierte Betreuung, Mentoring, Vernetzung sowie wissenschaftliche und technische Ausbildung. Gleichzeitig erweitern wir die beruflichen Fähigkeiten unserer Absolventen durch maßgeschneiderte Personal- und Managementschulungen. Eine starke Säule des KSOP-Konzepts ist die individuelle Betreuung der Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden durch einen Mentor pro Forschungsbereich.

Module während der Promotion:

Management Module

Technische Module

Wissenschaftliche Module

MBA Fundamentals (optional)

Im Jahr 2011 trat der Arbeitskreis Bräse der KSOP bei (Forschungsbereich I). Einerseits arbeiten wir an mit Fluoreszenzfarbstoffen markierten Peptoiden, um neue Erkenntnisse über biologische Systeme zu gewinnen. Andererseits ist ein weiterer Schwerpunkt das Design und die Synthese neuer effizienter Materialien für organische Leuchtdioden (OLEDs) und für organische Solarzellen (OSCs).

Weitere Informationen unter www.ksop.de

Aktuelle Mitglieder sind Dr. Jasmin Busch und Lisa-Lou Gracia.

Alumni

Fabian Hundemer, Eduard Spuling, Alena Kalyakina, Mirella Wawryszyn, Dominik Kölmel, Daniel Volz

GradCHEMBIO

Die Graduiertenschule für Chemie und Biowissenschaften (GradCHEMBIO) bietet ein wissenschaftliches und Soft-Skill-Programm, das die individuelle wissenschaftliche Ausbildung ihrer Mitglieder begleitet und ergänzt.

GradCHEMBIO bietet 1 Soft-Skill-Kurs, ein Retreat und die finanzielle Unterstützung für die Teilnahme an einem internationalen Treffen.

Weitere Informationen über die Graduiertenschule finden Sie auf der Homepage.

BioInterfaces International Graduate School

Die BioInterfaces International Graduate School (BIF-IGS) am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) bietet ein strukturiertes Doktorandenprogramm für BioGrenzflächen in Technologie und Medizin, ein transdisziplinäres Forschungsprogramm der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft. Es zielt darauf ab, herausragende Studierende anzuziehen und Forschungsmöglichkeiten sowie Aus- und Weiterbildung in den trans- und multidisziplinären Forschungsbereichen des Programms BioGrenzflächen zu bieten, das eine breite Palette von Disziplinen wie Biologie, Chemie, Physik, Ingenieurwissenschaften und Informatik umfasst.

Diese Ausbildung ermöglicht es den Studierenden, sich auf zukünftige Karrieren in Berufsfeldern wie Gesundheitswissenschaften, Biotechnologie, Physik, Chemie und Umweltwissenschaften vorzubereiten. Unsere Studierenden machen eine einzigartige Erfahrung, indem sie in einem anregenden Umfeld transdisziplinärer Forschung unter Einsatz modernster Technologie arbeiten.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Homepage.