Research Group Bräse

Theses in the AK Bräse

Themes for bachelor thesis and research interns, more on request:

Topic

Language

Start

Supervisor/contact person, room, e-mail and phone number

Festphasensynthese biologisch aktiver Apicidin-Derivate

no matter

from january 2021

Moritz Hommrich, Lab 407, MZE, moritz.hommrich∂student.kit.edu, phone 41435

Synthese von Precursoren für die Semisynthese des Wnt-Inhibitors Calotropin

no matter

anytime

Sarah Al-Muthafer, Lab 101, sarah.muthafer∂kit.edu, phone 47928

Synthesis of Photoswitchable Azobenzene-Containing Linkers for Stimuli-Responsive SURMOFs

no matter

anytime

Hannes Kühner, Lab 112, hannes.kuehner∂kit.edu, phone 46793

Synthesis and modification of NHC-functionalized linker molecules for the fabrication of catalytically activ MOFs/COFs

no matter

anytime

Simon Oßwald, Lab 310, simon.osswald∂kit.edu, phone 43892

Synthese von funktionalisierten C3-symmetrischen Bausteinen.

Synthese von Polyaziden zur Anwendung als Photolacke im Direct Laser Writing.

no matter

anytime

Lisa Schmidt, Labor 302, lisa.schmidt∂kit.edu. phone 43218

Synthesis of novel multifunctional nitroxides for Covalent Organic Frameworks (COFs)

no matter

from may 2021

Cornelia Mattern, Labor 407, MZE, cornelia.mattern∂student.kit.edu, Tel. 41433

Synthesis and characterization of TADF fluorophores for organic light-emitting diodes

no matter anytime Celine Leonhardt, Labor 106, celine.leonhardt∂kit.edu, Tel. 46794

Synthesis of visible light-activated molecular photoswitches for photomodulation of smart materials

no matter

anytime

Susanne Kirchner, Lab 403, susanne.kirchner∂kit.edu, phone 48703

Oder Dr. Pianowski, Room 409, pianowskiYma5∂kit edu, Tel. 42297

Synthesis of peptides for light-dependent cell penetration and intracellular transport of bioactive molecules

no matter

anytime

Susanne Kirchner, Lab 403, susanne.kirchner∂kit.edu, phone 48703

or Dr. Pianowski, Room 409, pianowskiTxv0∂kit edu, Tel. 42297

Synthesis of photochromic components for photomodulation of oligonucleotide analogues

no matter

anytime

Susanne Kirchner, Lab 403, susanne.kirchner∂kit.edu, phone 48703

or Dr. Pianowski, Room 409, pianowskiBfe3∂kit edu, Tel. 42297

Synthesis of near infrared emitters for live cell imaging

English

from may 2021

Roberta Tabone, Labor 104, roberta.tabone∂kit.edu (https://www.ioc.kit.edu/bizzarri/index.php), phone 42913

Synthesis of organelle-specific probes for biosensing

English

from may 2021

Roberta Tabone, Labor 104, roberta.tabone∂kit.edu (https://www.ioc.kit.edu/bizzarri/index.php), phone 42913

Synthesis of photosensitizers with phototheranostics properties

English from may 2021 Roberta Tabone, Labor 104, roberta.tabone∂kit.edu (https://www.ioc.kit.edu/bizzarri/index.php), phone 42913

 

Themes for master thesis, more on request:

Theme

Language

Start

Supervisor/contact person, room, e-mail and phone number

Synthesis of diimine chelating ligands bearing chromophoric groups

no matter

from may 2020

Claudia Bizzarri, Lab 110, claudia.bizzarri∂kit.edu, phone 48769

Synthesis of chiral Cu(I) complexes for the use in organic light-emitting diodes possessing circularly polarized electroluminescence

English

from january 2021

Xuemin Gan, Lab 303, xuemin.gan∂kit.edu, Tel. 46597

Novel Cu(I) based complexes bearing alternative pyridinephosphines

English from january 2021 Xuemin Gan, Lab 303, xuemin.gan∂kit.edu, Tel. 46597

Expanding the metal core to four, synthesis and photophysical characterization of tetranuclear NHETPhos and POPhos Cu(I) complexes

English from january 2021 Xuemin Gan, Lab 303, xuemin.gan∂kit.edu, Tel. 46597

General overview of potential theses and doctorates in the following subject areas

TADF Molecules:

TADF fluorophores are among the most promising technologies for organic light-emitting diodes (OLEDs). TADF stands for thermally activated delayed fluorescence. Metal complexes based on copper or even purely organic molecules can exhibit TADF properties. In addition to prompt fluorescence, these molecules also exhibit a delayed component. Prompt and delayed fluorescence together allow a theoretical internal quantum yield of 100%, making TADF molecules competitive with phosphorescent dyes.

Organic molecules and organometallic complexes can be specially designed to preserve the TADF character. Established approaches are twist-induced charge-transfer, through-spacer charge-transfer and multiresonance effect. All three approaches have been investigated for several years in the research group of Prof. Bräse. Therefore, this group offers a wide expertise in the large field of TADF fluorophores.

Metal-Complexes:

We are always looking for curios minds with a special interest in metalorganic chemistry. In our 3MET project „Cooperative Effects in Homo- and Hetero-Metallic Complexes” of the Deutsche Forschungs­ge­mein­schaft DFG (SFB/TRR 88) we are working on different metal complexes for the use in catalysis (B2) as well as on luminescent materials based on coinage metals (T1) for the use in organic light-emitting diodes (OLEDs). As metalorganic chemistry combines the synthesis of organic ligands and metal complexes a great variety of working tasks arises as well as for the analytical and (photo)physical characterization of the compounds. Are you interested? Please send us your application.

Materials:

In the research group of Prof. Bräse, building blocks for highly porous materials have been synthesized for a long time. This includes the preparation of functionalized linker molecules for metal-organic frameworks (MOFs, COFs) and the synthesis of rigid aromatic building blocks for purely organic networks. In collaboration with other groups, these materials are synthesized and characterized, and potential applications are tested. Prof. Bräse's group has many years of experience and successful publications with many other collaborators. Recently we are also working on the synthesis of polyaromatic compounds for the application in solar cells. Are you interested in a thesis/dissertation on this topic? You are welcome to choose one of the presented topics or get a more detailed insight into current research on materials at our listed research interests. Please contact the corresponding staff or Mr. Prof Bräse. We are happy to discuss your own topic requests.

Paracyclophane:

The [2,2] paracyclophane is a central molecule in the research of this group. It has been used for many years as a building block for the synthesis of a wide variety of complex structures. Our research is mainly based on the possibility to incorporate chirality and the spatial separation of functional groups. Currently, our research focuses on the synthesis of (chiral) (heterobi)metallic complexes based on paracyclophane and their application. Chiral paracyclophanes are also used in CVD polymerization. Furthermore, fluorophores are synthesized starting from the paracyclophane. Are you interested in working with this molecule or do you have an idea for a topic? Please contact the corresponding staff or Prof. Bräse to arrange a possible topic.

Natural proucts:

The synthesis of natural products, biologically active materials and peptides has a long tradition in this group. Many natural products have been obtained over the years. Currently, the total synthesis of natural products continues to be pursued in this group. The equipment of the group as well as the experience of our staff and Prof. Bräse offers a good basis for further successful syntheses. Furthermore, the synthesis and modification of peptoid structures is a present topic in this working group. Over the years, research has continued on biologically active as well as bioisosteric molecules and their effects on cells have been tested. If you are interested in working with natural products, biologically active molecules as well as the development of synthesis methods, you are welcome to contact Prof. Bräse to work out an appropriate topic.

Abschlussarbeiten im AK Bräse

Bachelor- und  Vertieferarbeiten, weitere auf Anfrage:

Thema

Sprache

Möglicher Beginn

Betreuer/Ansprechpartner, Raum, E-mail und Telefonnummer

[Vertiefer] Synthese eines neuartigen Porphyrin-Dimers aus einem Porphyrin und einem N-Confused Porpyhrin. Egal Ab Oktober 2022 Michael Rotter, Labor 306, michael.rotter∂kit.edu, Tel. 46597

[Bachelor & Vertiefer] Distanzmodulierung von Metallen durch Porphyrin-Dimere als neuartige CO2 Katalysatoren.

Egal Ab Oktober 2022 Michael Rotter, Labor 306, michael.rotter∂kit.edu, Tel. 46597

Synthese von funktionalisierten C3-symmetrischen Bausteinen.

Synthese von Polyaziden zur Anwendung als Photolacke im Direct Laser Writing.

Egal Immer Lisa Schmidt, Labor 302, lisa.schmidt∂kit.edu. Tel. 43218

Synthesis of visible light-activated molecular photoswitches for photomodulation of smart materials

Egal

Immer

Dr. Pianowski, Raum 409, pianowski does-not-exist.kit edu, Tel. 42297

Synthesis of peptides for light-dependent cell penetration and intracellular transport of bioactive molecules

Egal

Immer

Dr. Pianowski, Raum 409, pianowski does-not-exist.kit edu, Tel. 42297

Synthesis of photochromic components for photomodulation of oligonucleotide analogues

Egal

Immer

Dr. Pianowski, Raum 409, pianowski does-not-exist.kit edu, Tel. 42297

Synthesis of near infrared emitters for live cell imaging English ab Mai 2021 Roberta Tabone, Labor 104, roberta.tabone∂kit.edu (https://www.ioc.kit.edu/bizzarri/index.php), Tel. 42913
Synthesis of organelle-specific probes for biosensing English ab Mai 2021 Roberta Tabone, Labor 104, roberta.tabone∂kit.edu (https://www.ioc.kit.edu/bizzarri/index.php), Tel. 42913
Synthesis of photosensitizers with phototheranostics properties English ab Mai 2021

Roberta Tabone, Labor 104, roberta.tabone∂kit.edu (https://www.ioc.kit.edu/bizzarri/index.php), Tel. 42913

Synthesis of new mono- and multinuclear copper complexes for CO2 photoreduction applications English ab Dezember 2021 Cecilia Bruschi, Labor 110, cecilia.bruschi∂kit.edu (https://www.ioc.kit.edu/bizzarri/index.php), Tel. 48769
Azide-based “self-clicked” dendrimeric porous organic polymer English Immer Xujun Qiu (Mike), Labor 305, xujun.qiu∂kit.edu, Tel. 42905

 

Masterarbeiten, weitere auf Anfrage:

Thema

Sprache

Möglicher Beginn

Betreuer/Ansprechpartner, Raum, E-mail und Telefonnummer

Synthesis of diimine chelating ligands bearing chromophoric groups

Egal

Ab Mai 2020

Claudia Bizzarri, Labor 110, claudia.bizzarri∂kit.edu, Tel. 48769

Allgemeine Übersicht über potenzielle Abschlussarbeiten und Promotionen in folgenden Themenfeldern

TADF Moleküle:

TADF Fluorophore gehören zu den vielversprechensten Technologien für organische Leuchtdioden (OLEDs). TADF steht für thermally activated delayed fluorescence. Metallkomplexe basierend auf Kupfer oder auch rein organische Moleküle können TADF Eigenschaften zeigen. Zusätzlich zur prompten Fluoreszenz zeigen diese Moleküle auch eine verzögerte Komponente auf. Prompte und verzögerte Fluoreszenz zusammen ermöglichen eine theoretische interne Quantenausbeute von 100%, womit TADF Moleküle konkurrenzfähig gegenüber phosphoreszierenden Farbstoffen sind.

Organische Moleküle und Organometall Komplexe können speziell designed werden damit der TADF Charakter erhalten wird. Etablierte Herangehensweisen sind der twist-induced charge-transfer, through-spacer charge-transfer und multiresonance effect. Alle drei Herangehensweisen werden seit einigen Jahren in der Forschungsgruppe von Herrn Prof Bräse erforscht. Daher bietet dieser Arbeitskreis eine weitreichende Expertise auf dem großen Gebiet der TADF Fluorophore.

Metall Komplexe:

Wir sind immer auf der Suche nach neugierigen Studenten mit einem besonderen Interesse an metallorganischer Chemie. In unserem 3MET-Projekt "Kooperative Effekte in Homo- und Hetero-Metallkomplexen" der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft DFG (SFB/TRR 88) arbeiten wir an verschiedenen Metallkomplexen für den Einsatz in der Katalyse (B2) sowie an lumineszierenden Materialien auf Basis von Münzmetallen (T1) für den Einsatz in organischen Leuchtdioden (OLEDs). Da die metallorganische Chemie die Synthese von organischen Liganden und Metallkomplexen kombiniert, ergibt sich eine große Vielfalt an Arbeitsaufgaben sowie für die analytische und (photo)physikalische Charakterisierung der Verbindungen. Sind Sie interessiert? Dann treten Sie bitte mit Herrn Prof. Bräse in Kontakt. Dann senden Sie uns bitte Ihre Bewerbung.

Materialien:

Im Arbeitskreis von Prof. Bräse werden seit langem Bausteine für hochporöse Materialien synthetisiert. Dies umfasst unter anderem die Herstellung funktionalisierter Linkermoleküle für Metall-organische Gerüstverbindungen (MOFs, COFs) sowie die Synthese starrer aromatischer Bausteine für rein organische Netzwerke. In Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Gruppen werden diese Materialien synthetisiert und charakterisiert sowie eventuelle Anwendungen ausgetestet. Die Arbeitsgruppe von Prof Bräse kann hier auf eine jahrelange Erfahrung sowie erfolgreiche Publikationen mit vielen anderen Kooperationspartnern verweißen. Neuerdings arbeiten wir auch an der Synthese von polyaromatischen Verbindungen für die Anwendung in Solarzellen. Sie haben Interesse an einer Abschlussarbeit/Promotion zu diesem Thema? Gerne können sie eines der aufgeführten Themen auswählen oder bei unseren aufgelisteten Forschungsinteressen einen genaueren Einblick zur aktuellen Forschung an Materialien erhalten. Bitte kontaktieren Sie die entsprechenden Mitarbeiter oder Herr Prof. Bräse. Über eigenen Themenwünsche wird gerne diskutiert.

Paracyclophane:

Das [2,2] Paracyclophan ist ein zentrales Molekül in der Forschung dieser Arbeitsgruppe. Es wird seit vielen Jahren als Baustein zur Synthese verschiedenster komplexer Strukturen verwendet. Unsere Forschung baut vor allem auf der Möglichkeit auf, Chiralität einzubauen sowie der räumlichen Trennung funktioneller Gruppen. Aktuell steht zu einem die Synthese (chiraler) (Heterobi)metallischer Komplexe auf Basis des Paracyclophanes sowie deren Anwendung im Fokus unserer Forschung. Chirale Paracyclophane werden außerdem in der CVD-Polymerisation eingesetzt. Weiterhin werden Fluorophore ausgehend vom Paracyclophan synthetisiert. Sie haben Interesse an der Arbeit mit diesem Molekül oder eine Idee für ein Thema? Bitte kontaktieren Sie die entsprechenden Mitarbeiter oder Prof. Bräse zur Absprache eines eventuellen Themas.

Naturstoffe:

Die Synthese von Naturstoffen, biologische aktiven Materialien sowie Peptiden hat in dieser Gruppe eine lange Tradition. Viele Naturstoffe konnten über die Jahre erhalten werden. Auch aktuell wird die Totalsynthese von Naturstoffen in dieser Gruppe weiter verfolgt. Die Ausstattung der Arbeitsgruppe sowie die Erfahrung unserer Mitarbeiter und Herr Prof. Bräse bietet für weitere erfolgreiche Synthesen eine gute Basis. Des weiteren ist die Synthese und Modifizierung von peptoiden Strukturen ein präsentes Thema in diesem Arbeitskreis. Im Verlauf der Jahre wurde weiterhin an biologisch aktiven sowie bioisosteren Molekülen geforscht und deren Einwirkung auf Zellen getestet. Wenn Sie Interesse an der Arbeit mit Naturstoffen, biologisch aktiven Molekülen sowie der Entwicklung von Synthesemethoden haben, können Sie gerne mit Herr Prof. Bräse in Kontakt treten um ein entsprechendes Thema zu erarbeiten.